Legal form

The legal capacity of the Verband der Freien Sparkassen e. V. (Association of German Independent Savings Banks], established in 1920, is based on Section 21 of the German Civil Code (BGB).


The ordinary members of the Association of German Independent Savings Banks are made up of five independent savings banks, i.e., institutions which are not subject to municipal law and, a savings bank not regulated by public law, which emerged from an independent savings bank. The association’s extraordinary members comprise 32 savings banks and an association of six other European countries.

General meeting

The general meeting is composed of representatives from the member savings banks. Extraordinary members do not have the right to vote.

Management Board

Dr. Tim Nesemann, Bremen
Association Head
Chair of the Management Board of Die Sparkasse Bremen AG


1st Deputy Association Head
Dr. Harald Vogelsang, Hamburg
Spokesperson for the Management Board of HASPA Finanzholding and Hamburger Sparkasse AG


2nd Deputy Association Head
Frank Schumacher, Lübeck
Chair of the Management Board of Sparkasse zu Lübeck AG


Extraordinary member of the association’s Management Board with advisory vote
Dr. Gerhard Fabisch, Graz
Chair of the Management Board of Steiermärkische Bank und Sparkassen AG


The Verband der Freien Sparkassen e. V. is an extraordinary member of the Deutschen Sparkassen- und Giroverbandes e. V. (German Savings Banks Association), Bonn/Berlin, a member of the Wissenschaftsförderung der Sparkassen-Finanzgruppe e.V., and a member of the Sparkassenstiftung für internationale Kooperation (German Sparkassenstiftung for International Cooperation), Bonn.